JumpStart Module 2 – Collaboration

Collaborating with Team Members

In this module I was introduced to a collaboration tool called Slack. This tool is a lot like many other messaging systems, however it’s a bit more equipped for managing a classroom in that I can group students together, direct message group members, create documents within the application or link to documents outside of it and privatize or ‘star’ specific conversations. I think this program has a lot of utility in the classroom and outside of it, for example I could use this messaging system with my research students. Right now, I have about a dozen texts and emails flying around between three students. This would allow me to send them all information at once, or communicate individually with them within the same conversation – I’m actually really looking forward to trying this out next semester.

Screenshots of conversations:

Here I am in a starred group message with my roommate and my other account. I also show how I have inserted a file into the conversation and started a side thread with my roommate.
Here I am direct messaging with myself using a second account.

 

Leave a Reply